Fire & Police Commission

The Fire & Police Commission consists of seven (7) members who are appointed by the President and the Board of Trustees to serve a four (4) year term. The duties of the board are as follows:

  • The board shall, in accordance with its Rules and Regulations, appoint all members of the Fire Department and Police Department of the Village except the Fire Chief, Assistant Fire Chiefs, the Police Chief, and Police Division Chiefs.
  • The board shall conduct competitive examinations for original appointment and promotion in accordance with their Rules and Regulations.
  • The board shall conduct all hearings on charges of a disciplinary nature against any member, as well as hearings in regard to the appeal of any suspension order for more than five (5) days issued by either the Fire Chief or Police Chief. The Board, after hearing, may dismiss the charges, suspend the member, with or without pay, for not more than thirty (30) days, or order the member discharged.
  • The board shall undertake such other duties from time to time as authorized or directed by the Act, the Fire Department Promotion Act, or the Village Code.
The Village of Oak Lawn
Attn:  Fire & Police Commission
9446 Raymond Ave.
Oak Lawn, IL 60453
(708) 499-7830